About the Liddy Shriver Sarcoma Initiative

From 2003-2014, the Liddy Shriver Sarcoma Initiative worked to improve the quality of life for people dealing with sarcomas around the world. The Initiative increased public awareness of sarcoma, raised funds to award research grants, and provided support and timely information to sarcoma patients, their families, and medical professionals. These efforts were achieved through collaboration with numerous individuals and organizations that shared a similar vision. The Initiative is no longer active at this time, with the exception of funding final research and publishing research reports.

The Initiative's Volunteers

The Initiative's distinguished Medical Advisory and Editorial Board contributed expert articles and content for SarcomaHelp.org. The members of the Sarcoma Advocacy Advisory Committee, who were affected by sarcoma themselves, shared their insights and assisted the Initiative in many ways. At the close of the Initiative, the following were active volunteers:


Bruce Shriver, PhD
Beverly Shriver, RN

Medical Advisory and Editorial Board

Jean-Yves Blay, MD, PhD, Université Claude Bernard, France
Judith Bovée, MD, PhD, Leiden University Medical Center, Netherlands
Edwin Choy, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center
Angelo Paolo Dei Tos, General Hospital of Treviso, Italy
Stefano Ferrari, MD, Istituto Ortopedico Rizzoli, Italy
Charles Forscher, MD, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Mark Gebhardt, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Richard Gorlick, MD, The Children's Hospital at Montefiore
Katherine Janeway, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Ian Judson, MD, The Royal Marsden, United Kingdom
Akira Kawai, MD, PhD, National Cancer Center Hospital (NCCH), Japan
Mary Louise Keohan, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Alexander Lazar, MD, PhD, M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
David Loeb, MD, PhD, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
Crystal Mackall, MD, National Cancer Institute
Igor Matushansky, MD, PhD, Novartis Corporation
Paul A. Meyers, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Ola Myklebost, PhD, Norwegian Radium Hospital in Norway
Raphael Pollock, MD, PhD, University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
R. Lor Randall, MD, University of Utah, Huntsman Cancer Institute
Piotr Rutkowski, MD, PhD, Sklodowska-Curie Memorial Cancer Center, Poland
Poul Sorensen, MD, PhD, BC Cancer Research Centre, Canada
David Thomas, MD, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Australia
Margaret von Mehren, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center
Leonard Wexler, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Honorary Medical Advisory and Editorial Board

Laurence Baker, DO, Southwest Oncology Group and SARC
Murray Brennan, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Ole Steen Nielsen, MD, University of Aarhus in Aarhus, Denmark

Sarcoma Advocacy Advisory Committee

MiMi Olsson
Mary Sorens
Tom Swartz

The Initiative's Sponsors and Friends

Many generous individuals, families and organizations helped the Initiative to fund research and support the global sarcoma community.

Contact Us

The Initiative is no longer active. Technical questions about this website can be e-mailed to our website administrator (she does not provide patient support). If you need personal support dealing with sarcoma, please make use of the support resources on this page.