About the Liddy Shriver Sarcoma Initiative

Video: The Role of Private Funding in Sarcoma Research

The Liddy Shriver Sarcoma Initiative was founded in 2003. Its mission is to improve the quality of life for people dealing with sarcomas around the world. The Initiative increases public awareness of sarcoma, raises funds to award research grants, and provides support and timely information to sarcoma patients, their families, and medical professionals. These efforts are achieved through collaboration with numerous individuals and organizations that share a similar vision. The Initiative is undergoing an important transition through 2015.

The Initiative's Volunteers

Our distinguished Medical Advisory and Editorial Board contribute expert articles and content for our website. The members of our Sarcoma Advocacy Advisory Committee, who have been affected by sarcoma themselves, share their insights and assist us with our initiatives.


Bruce Shriver, PhD
Beverly Shriver, RN

Medical Advisory and Editorial Board

Jean-Yves Blay, MD, PhD, Université Claude Bernard, France
Judith Bovée, MD, PhD, Leiden University Medical Center, Netherlands
Edwin Choy, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center
Angelo Paolo Dei Tos, General Hospital of Treviso, Italy
Stefano Ferrari, MD, Istituto Ortopedico Rizzoli, Italy
Charles Forscher, MD, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Mark Gebhardt, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Richard Gorlick, MD, The Children's Hospital at Montefiore
Katherine Janeway, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Ian Judson, MD, The Royal Marsden, United Kingdom
Akira Kawai, MD, PhD, National Cancer Center Hospital (NCCH), Japan
Mary Louise Keohan, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Alexander Lazar, MD, PhD, M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
David Loeb, MD, PhD, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
Crystal Mackall, MD, National Cancer Institute
Igor Matushansky, MD, PhD, Novartis Corporation
Paul A. Meyers, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Ola Myklebost, PhD, Norwegian Radium Hospital in Norway
Raphael Pollock, MD, PhD, University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
R. Lor Randall, MD, University of Utah, Huntsman Cancer Institute
Piotr Rutkowski, MD, PhD, Sklodowska-Curie Memorial Cancer Center, Poland
Poul Sorensen, MD, PhD, BC Cancer Research Centre, Canada
David Thomas, MD, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Australia
Margaret von Mehren, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center
Leonard Wexler, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Honorary Medical Advisory and Editorial Board

Laurence Baker, DO, Southwest Oncology Group and SARC
Murray Brennan, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Ole Steen Nielsen, MD, University of Aarhus in Aarhus, Denmark

Sarcoma Advocacy Advisory Committee

MiMi Olsson
Mary Sorens
Tom Swartz

The Initiative's Sponsors and Friends

We are grateful to the individuals, families and organizations that help us to achieve our goals of funding research and supporting the global sarcoma community.

Contact Us

We welcome your feedback about the Initiative! Write to us at [email protected]

Additional Contact Information

The Liddy Shriver Sarcoma Initiative
17 Bethea Drive
Ossining, New York 10562-1620
Phone: (914) 762-3251

Bruce and Beverly ShriverLeave a Public Comment

Thank you so much for visiting us! We'd love to hear where you're from and what you think of our website.

Thanks again,
Bruce and Beverly